INS Desk
No Comments

Now Javaid Mustafa Mir resigns from PDP

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar: Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Tuesday received Saturday jolt when another senior leaders and a former minister decided to quit the party, taking the number of senior party leaders, including legislators, shunning the party to more than dozen since the PDP-BJP government fell in June last year.
Senior leader and former minister Javaid Mustafa Mir resigned but refused to reveal any reasons immediately for resignation from the party.
Last month, Syed Basharat Bukhari, who served as law and revenue ministers during the PDP-BJP regime, and Peer Muhammad Hussain, vice chairman of the J&K Waqf, resigned and joined National conference.
Prior to them, the architect of the PDP-BJP alliance, Hasseb Drabu, a PDP leader who served as State finance minister, also left the party after differences with PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti over latter dropping him from the council of ministers.
Earlier, three MLAs, Abid Ansari, Imran Ansari and Abbas Wani, quit the party and two of them joined the Peoples Conference (PC) headed by Sajjad Gani Lone.
Two MLCs, Yasir Reshi and Saifuddin Bhat, also distanced themselves from the party. MLC Reshi also joined Lone’s PC.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *