Assembly session to begin with obituary reference to 8 former members, MP

1 min read

Srinagar: The legislative assembly will see obituary references on the demise of eight former ministers and members as it begins in Jammu on Thursday.
As per the tradition, the members will observe two-minute silence in honour of Makhan Lal Fotedar (Ex- Minister); Sheikh Mohammad Maqbool (Ex- Minister); Sofi Ghulam Mohi-Ud-Din (Ex-Minister);
Molvi Abdul Rashid (Ex-Deputy Speaker); Shabir Ahmad Salaria (Ex-MP); Om Saraf (Ex-MLC); Surinder Kumar Abrol (Ex-MLC) and Dr. Naseer Ahmad Shah (Ex-MLC). The ministers and members of house as well as parliament died during the time between last and the present session.
It would be followed by address to both Houses of Legislature by governor at 11.00 A.M in the Central Hall of the Legislature Complex, Jammu.
The Governor’s Address is most solemn and formal act under the Constitution and ought to be heard with attention and respect besides maintaining utmost dignity, decency and decorum.
“As such the Members of both Houses of Legislature are requested to take their seats 5 minutes before the arrival of the Governor in the Central Hall and remain in their seats till he leaves the Central Hall after the conclusion of the Address,” said secretary of the legislative assembly. “Moreover, the National Anthem will be played by the band when the Governor reaches the dais and also after the conclusion of the Address.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.