INS Correspondent
No Comments

From 2014 to 2019, PDP’s five Srinagar assembly constituencies have changed

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

By Ovais Gull

Srinagar: In the last five years, almost five assembly constituencies in Srinagar district have witnessed a change in the Lok Sabha polls 2019, the result of which was declared on Thursday (May 23).

A data available with The INS reads that the five constituencies that were held by Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) members in the previous elections have slipped from their hands and shifted to National Conference (NC).

The constituencies include Sonwar, Amira Kadal, Zadibal, Batamaloo and Hazratbal; all the constituencies were earlier by PDP members including Muhammad Ashraf Mir, Syed Altaf Bukhari, Abid Ansari, Noor Muhammad and Asiya Naqash respectively.

According to fresh data available, the National Conference in 2019 Lok Sabha polls has got 4298 votes in Sonwar constituency while as the nearest rival PDP has secured only 2725 votes there. The campaigning for Sonwar constituency from NC was done by its youth leader Ahsan Pardesi, who has never fought the elections before but is likely to contest the upcoming assembly elections form the constituency on NC’s ticket.

In Amira Kadal, NC has got 3559 votes in while the rest of the parties and candidates have got less than 500 votes in the constituency. The constituency is headed by NC’s provincial president Nasir Aslam Wani.

National Conference has got 3718 votes in Zadibal assembly constituency while as the nearest rival PC candidate has secured only 3216 votes there. The constituency is headed by Tanvir Sadiq, who is political advisor to former chief minister and NC vice president Omar Abdullah.

In Batamaloo assembly constituency, NC has got 4402 votes while as its nearest rival from PDP has got 3641 votes only. The assembly constituency is headed by NC leader Irfan Shah.

National Conference has got 3979 votes in Hazratbal assembly constituency while as the nearest rival from PC has secured only 3078 votes there.

NC provincial president, Nasir Aslam told The INS that they can’t be complaisant with this result as there is difference between parliament and assembly elections.

However, he said such a mandate thrown by the people will surely encourage the cadre and the party will build up with this to get majority of seats to form its own government. He said that party is hopeful that people will support them in upcoming assembly elections too.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *