INS Desk
No Comments

2.3% vote in Srinagar, 6.5% in Ganderbal, 6.4% in Budgam in first 4 hours of polling

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar: The voter turnout remained abysmally low in Srinagar parliamentary constituency in first four hours of voting on Thursday.
The constituency is spread over three districts of Srinagar, Budgam and Ganderbal with as many as 12,90,318 voters  eligible to decide the fate of 12 candidates. 1,716 polling stations have been set up in the constituency.
At 11 a.m., marking completion of first four hours of voting, Srinagar recorded a lowest turnout of
2.3% while Ganderbal witnessed 6.5 % and Budgam6.4 % respectively, officials said.
Former 3-time chief minister Farooq Abdullah is among the candidates in the fray and is seen as the frontrunner to enter the Lok Sabha for the fourth time from Srinagar seat.
Besides Abdullah, the other prominent candidates are Aga Mohsin of PDP, Irfan Ansari of People’s Conference and Khalid Jehangir of BJP.
The campaigning for the prestigious seat, which came to an end on Tuesday, saw relatively a low key campaign with only Abdullah making his presence felt as a candidate.

Poll %age of 2nd phase–after 4 hours 

Udhampur Parliamentary Constituency

S no District
1. Reasi 9.7 % 28.8%
2. Kathua 13.5 % 28.5%
3. Udhampur 12.0% 28.7%
4. Ramban 2.8% 19.5%
5. Doda 9.7% 28.6%
6. Kishtwar 4.0% 23.6%


Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency

S no District
1. Budgam 1.6% 6.4 %
2. Ganderbal 1.2% 6.5%
3. Srinagar 0.9% 2.3%


Overall poll %age in the State is 17.8 % upto 11.00 a.m


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *