INS Desk
No Comments

Govt reconstitutes panel on sexual harassment of women at workplace

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar: The Governor administration on Friday reconstituted Complaint Committee under Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act.

“In partial modification of Government Order 110.372-GAD of 2018 dated 05.03.2018 and in pursuance of Section 4(1) of the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013, sanction is hereby accorded to the reconstitution of the Complaint Committee, to register and enquire into and dispose of the complaints, if any, of sexual harassment against women employees of the Civil Secretariat,” reads an order issued here.

The 5-member committee comprises of Ms. Sarita Chauhan (IAS) as Commissioner/Secretary to the Government, Higher Education Department while its members include Ms. Kusum Badyal (KAS), Special Secretary to the Government, Housing & Urban Development Department, Nuzhat Shah (Section Officer, Industries & Commerce Chairperson), representative of a NGO to be nominated by the Social Welfare department and any person co-opted by the chairman.

The committee has been asked to submit to the General Administration Department its report on each complaint received by it regarding sexual harassment against women employee(s) of the Secretariat for consideration of the Government and file quarterly/annual reports about the total number of complaints received, enquired by and action taken on the same.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *